6 comments on “That Sounds Like Hooey

  1. Well . . . I think it is reasonable to think the sooner you get moisture into your beans, the sooner they will germinate.

    If you plant it without soaking, it simply takes a bit longer to soften up.

    And beetroot seed (and some sweet corn) are stopped from germinating too soon (in the packet) by the something-or-other that the suppliers coat them with – so washing that ‘something’ off is sensible if you want your seeds to start growing.

    Male urine – to ward off foxes and badgers – does it work? I think so! – or it might simply have been they were tired of my garden anyway. (It’s supposed to work for deer too – but I didn’t have any of them to start with).

    Planting potatoes on Good Friday (depending on where you are planting them of course!) – well, Good Friday sort of wanders around – but digging in cool weather is a reflective activity . . . and knowing other people are doing the same thing, at the same time, is the kind of thing which builds community – so I would say that is a gardening tradition with a non-gardening outcome.

    Esther
    ESTHER IN THE GARDEN

  2. The idea of even gardening by moon phases (which couldn’t possible have a real, gravitational or other impact) actually has kind of the same impact as the potatoes on Good Friday. That idea that others are doig the same thing does make the garden experience richer and perhaps that leads to better garden tending.. an indirect benefit of following a celestial/supernatural calendar.

    And male urine.. damn. That stuff is good for just about everything! I know this, it keeps my wife away from the toilet seat. I bet it would work for deer too!

    There is also something to nitrogen content in urine. Good compost addition right? Is it only the male urine that is nitrogen rich? (My male urine is also rich in beer and video games.)

    The seed soaking feels intuitively, scientifically right. My question would be… if the seed is soaking up the moisture, it can’t magically store any extra; there is already a limit. Is it more efficient to soak it directly before sowing it than to simply water it once it’s in the ground? I don’t know. I do know I do it with my beets and it must be because of what you say.. they just soften up sooner and get to germinating all that much faster.

  3. re. Your comment on ‘Esther in the garden’ – do you know the children’s poem ‘I Would Win the Gold if These Were Olympic Sports . . . ‘ by Paul Cookson?

    Esther

  4. The only Paul Cookson poem that I know is “The Day After The Day After Boxing Day”.

    What are a few lines from I would win the gold?

    (There are many things that I would win the gold at if they were olympic events – pretzel eating, hot dog eating, shoe stinking up, and self deprication. And irony.)

  5. I agree with you that most of the planting by the moon is not very scientific, however, not all of it. Spinach for example is very photo sensitive. I can’t grow it in my garden because I have a street light shining into my garden. It always bolts before it grows very big (though I haven’t tried it since they switched to reddish lights – might work now). I can imagine that the light of the moon would be enough to get it to bolt.

  6. A streetlight on your garden? Cool! Then I could see way better when I’m out there at 2 in the morning.. .which I’ve done. I’m a little deranged.

    I suppose it’s possible for spinach to be influenced by moonlight (which is only reflected sunlight), but since it’s possible to grow spinach, I can’t help but think it doesn’t get hit by moonlight any harder than anything else on earth. The phases of the moon, which are central to moon planting, can’t possibly have an impact on plants either from gravity or light. Otherwise plants would have evolved a 30 day cycle of reproduction.

Leave a Reply

