4 comments on “Snapping Jaws Of Motherly Death

  1. We had one of these nest by our lamp post at the end of our driveway. It was fascinating, but I was terrified all summer that little baby snapping turtles were going to emerge and bite my toes as I sat on my lawn! I don’t know what you would do to discourage them; they seem to go where they want. It’s cool that we got to see them nest, but I worry about my overly eager toddler!!! Great pic.

  2. From what I understand, they really are very unlikely to snap. This one is a Common Snapping turtle (although that would probably hurt her feelings) and they don’t do much but eat fish and stuff. No danger at all.

Leave a Reply

