8 comments on “The downside of upside down

  1. I’m intrigued by this project. I wish I had space to ‘have a bash’ at it myself.

    I took a look at Cindy’s site the other day (from your link).

    If it works out, I can imagine someone making attractive wooden frames commercially – perhaps with wicker baskets hanging from them, specially made with holes for the plants to poke through.

    There could be elegant avenues of upside-down tomato plants between which visitors would walk as they approach front doors.

    I can’t remember the name used for tunnels of vines and other luxuriant plants which grand gardens had in ‘the old days’. I love the smell of tomato plants. The idea of walking between them, nose level, even from when they are small – is very enticing.

    I hope it works.

    I hope it catches on!

    Esther

  2. I love the smell of tomato plants too. imagine treating them like grapes with big hanging trellises. That might actually look nice. I’d still work in a cat litter bucket somewhere.

  3. Liked your idea of using the bucket. Don’t have quite as much space so I used a hanging basket. Will be posting about my attempt soon.

    Let’s see how the kitty litter bucket and the hanging basket work and keep both our blogs updated-don’t forget the photos.

    All in a gardener’s day,
    Dr Craig

  4. Good idea Dr. Craig! So far it looks okay, but there is a bit of a sun problem. The bucket blocks the sun a bit and I had to set it up in a spot that doesn’t get morning or late afternoon sun. But we’ll see how it goes.

  5. Tee hee. The cross-bar-before-bucket move is agonizingly familiar. I think I’m going to try hanging tomatoes from the eaves, but I’ll have to find something more attractive than your kitty-litter item or there will be unpleasant spousal comments. The search is on.
    –kate

  6. I don’t know. I think that the ugly plastic bucket with the cartoon cat really complements the otherwise natural setting. But, if you really must find something more attractive, might I suggest:

    1. A hollowed out old basketball.
    2. Size 17 men’s tennis shoes.
    3. An old v-neck t-shirt with armpit stains.

    Just my thoughts and I am an aesthetic genius.

  7. HA! Your last post reminds me of those “E-E-Ecology” movies they showed us in Elementary school in the 70’s: old tires made into flower planters, soda pull tab curtains, and so on….not really my aesthetic, but sure saves on landfill space. Actually, I’ve heard that you can make a raised bed vege garden using truck tires. You can plant them earlier, because the soil stays warmer. Anyone know if that’s true? Or even safe?

  8. My favorite… the old Coors Beer Ball, sort of a mini keg in a plastic bubble, actually had instructions for turning it into a planter after you drank the beer. Nice. I wonder if heroin needles come with instructions on how to turn them into darts? Now that’s a party!

    Yeah. You can use tires. People grow potatoes a lot in tires. That’s right up my ugly alley!

Leave a Reply

