8 comments on “Delousing: A Practical Primate’s Approach To The Garden

  1. “The baboon who is richly nippled with billions of bloated bugs begging to be my protein shake?” I hate to sound so girlie…but EEEEWWWWWIEEEEEE!!!!!!

    This is funny! I have a picture of you now crouched down in your garden grooming the leaves for bugs and making low grunts and “ooo….ooo…ooo” ing! Just don’t eat them!. Blechy bleh!

  2. Well.. it was mostly metaphor, but now that you mention it, those three striped potato bugs do look delicious! If they eat potatoes, do you think they taste like french fries?

  3. HA! Found this for you.I’m sure you could sub in Potato Beetle for Rootworm Beetle!

    Rootworm Beetle Dip
    Ingredients:

    2 cup low-fat cottage cheese
    1 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
    2 tablespoons skim milk
    1/2 cup reduced calorie mayonnaise
    1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
    1 tablespoon onion, chopped
    1 1/2 tsp. dill weed
    1 1/2 tsp. Beau Monde
    1 cup dry-roasted rootworm beetles
    Directions:
    Blend first 3 ingredients. Add remaining ingredients and chill.

  4. Ack! I made my name as a kid by being the only girl who would pick up toads, snakes, and frogs, or eat the chocolate ants and bees, but either I’ve grown up or you people are over the top weird. I’m going for #2, because no one who knows me would believe #1.

    I’m also betting that Jen’s dip recipe was originally for celery sticks, and she’s having a good laugh.

    Nice moral there, Jonesie.
    –Kate

  5. You are correct Kate. There’s some weirdness. But I think it’s mostly Jen! I’m generally described as dull and normal by most people who know me.

Leave a Reply

