8 comments on “I’ve Learned Two Things About Rabbits

  1. HA!!!

    That’s right. I bet that if I hung a bunch of rabbit’s feet from my garden fence it would warn away the other rabbits AND make my garden lucky.

  2. In honor of my earlier recipe post, i offer this:
    Wild Rabbit Stroganof
    Ingredients:

    2-3 rabbits
    choice marinade (something to take out the game taste, ex. Italian)
    2 eggs
    2 cups milk
    3 cups- bread or cracker crumbs (ground into dust)
    Can cream of mushroom
    2-3 table spoons sour cream
    1/2-1 cup cream/milk
    2 tsp garlic powder
    egg noodles or rice

    Quarter the rabbits, marinade overnight in acetic marinade (Italian Dressing),
    the vinegar draws out the blood and therefore the wild taste. Make an egg
    wash with your 2 eggs and 2 cups of milk, dip the quarters and back straps into wash, then into bread crumbs, I like to use crushed season crotons, brown in skillet with butter on high heat, don’t worry about them getting done just brown.

    In a separate dish combine the soup and cream then cover the rabbits in a deep skillet. Cover and cook on low heat for 20-30 min. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste. Serve over rice or egg noodles, top with sour cream.

    Bunnies are delightful to watch or eat!

  3. If I know our friend Jen, and I think that I do, she’ll find us a good recipe for groundhog.

    Failing a good recipe, I think that if you simply kill them and roast them, you’ll find some good meat somewhere. And if you don’t, well, your veggies will magically be more abundant.

  4. a rabbit has four feet and it still gets shot, not very lucky

    Ha! That is very true Kevin. Makes me wonder about rabbit’s feet at all..

Leave a Reply

