6 comments on “Step By Step Soaker Hose

  1. LOL! I can totally identify with the leaving the hose on for a week comment. I used to forget to turn off my hoses all the time before we got our in ground sprinkler system with automatic timer. They’re not all they’re cracked up to be though!

    This looks like a much better system than dragging hoses around all over the place.

  2. Hmmm, wonder what my husband would say if I told him I had another project for him to do? Actually, I’m not sure how well that buried hose would do during our winters, but I like the idea.

    I think I’d better let him finish the tumbling composter I talked him into building for me first.

  3. Cinj – I am absolutely certain I’m going to leave it on. There is no question about it. That is of course if it ever stops raining here in connecticut! No need to water the stinkin garden to begin with.

    Graceunbound – yeah… the winter is definitely going to kill the hose. I could have buried it deeper or maybe strung it through some pvc first. But the trench only took about 30 minutes to dig. I can probably do it again next year…

  4. Actually the owners before the previous owners of our house in MN buried a sprinkler hose not too deep and it held up for all 5 years that we lived there. It was there a year in between and I don’t think they buried it right before they moved so maybe you’ll be suprised and it will still work next year?

  5. I gave up on mine 😦 I’m a bad roll model 😦 But I have clay soil and awful water pressure making it hard for the water to get there and water properly. You’ll have much better luck with it 😀

Leave a Reply

