51 comments on “Excel Spreadsheet To Plan Your Garden Planting Dates

  1. Great excel spread sheet, excellent planting plan , I’ve adjusted last frost date for my allotment in Essex, UK and will plant accordingly. I’ll keep you posted on the results!

  2. thank you this is awesome, the detail of the organization is just what i needed. thank you for taking the time to do this and for sharing. Im planting in northwest ohio, hoping this helps me along the way

    • You are very welcome! I hope that it helps. You should seek to modify the formulas and timings to suite your zone, but it should work in general. I made several adjustments to the timings just based upon my own experience and they may not be perfect for you.

  3. You are using your super powers of “Excelling” for good, I see. Thank you Dr. Evil…glad to see you’re turing over a new leaf. HA

  4. Awesome calendar! Excel scares me, I’ve only been able to work it to figure out small business income and expenses so I’m in awe. Thanks =)

    • Thank you very much Amy! But Excel skills are not awe worthy… pretty sure I’ve seen your design work (your blog website and your business site for example) and that’s a far, far more impressive set of skills. Hope the spreadsheet comes in handy for you. Let me know if anything is wonky and i’ll fix it.

  5. Pingback: Another great planting calendar | Garden of Eatin'

  6. Pingback: Contextures Blog » Use Excel to Plan Your Garden

  7. hi there, i found your post when i searched for a gardening excel sheet, thanks!

    How do I go about downloading it? Or do I simply edit the google doc? I don’t want to edit it if it edits YOUR copy, yknow?

    Thanks 🙂

    • Hi Lindsey! Wow.. honestly despite this post and that file being the single most popular hit on my website for over a year now… nobody has ever asked that question and I therefore have never checked. I assumed that it was easy to download a file from google docs. But it isn’t! In fact it appears to be impossible. And that means that nobody has ever been able to download this thing!

      So, thank you very much for asking. I have moved the file now to media fire and it should allow you to download it. If it doesn’t, please comment back here and I will e-mail the file to you. Good luck!

  8. I just wanted to let you know that you’re mediafire link isn’t quite right. If you click it, it inputs the web address twice so that you end up on the main mediafire sign up screen. Deleting the extra address from the link does bring you to the correct page however. Thank you very much for sharing your work 🙂

  9. Not your fault at all Lindsey for not getting the google doc thing to work. Thank you for letting me know it wasn’t working. Hopefully it is, but if anybody else wants to download this and is having trouble, post in these comments and i will e-mail it to you. Your e-mail is linked to your comment, but nobody else can see it.

  10. Hi there- this spreadsheet is exactly what I’ve been looking for! However I too am having trouble getting the link to work. Would you mind emailing it to me? I hope you’re not sorry you offered 🙂

  11. Hi,
    Can you please email me the very clever Excel spreadsheet everyone is raving about?

    I can’t wait to use it! You should consider writing a book. This info does not appear to be anywhere else!

    Thank you!

  12. I can’t figure out how to download the garden planting dates spreadsheet. Can you email it to me? I would appreciate it very much.

  13. Please good sir, I am about to take my first foray into the world of gardening this year, and I would definitely appreciate a drink from your cup of knowledge to keep me from completely messing it up.

    • Oh my! Dylan you were always smarter than me. You’ll likely be a full-fledged farmer in about 2 weeks. The planner is on its way! Your last frost date is probably about 4-25.

  14. I would also love to have a copy of your spreadsheet. Could you send it to me please? It will save me a lot of time. Thanks for posting this!

  15. As of 7/5/2010 the link still doesn’t work. And the suggestion of removing the duplicate doesn’t work either.

    I’d like to see your spreadsheet, probably modify it (I’ll share any mods with you!). I’d like to have one with mid-summer to fall plantings based on first fall frost date. Also handle succession and compainion plantings per square in a square foot garden. A challenge to improve my Excel skills…..

    I’d appreciate it if you’d email me a copy of your current version. Thanks!

  16. I have signed up to MediaFire to download your planting spreadsheet but the link provided on this Web page doesn’t seem to work! Please would you email me a copy of the sheet?

    Thanking you in advanmce,

    Ray Osmond.

  17. I have signed up to MediaFire to download your planting spreadsheet but the link provided on this Web page doesn’t seem to work! Please would you email me a copy of this sheet?

    Thanking you in advanmce,

    Ray Osmond.

  18. I may be the only ignorant one who’s posted here, but can someone send me directions on how to add my own plants to this spreadsheet? I get the first two rows on the right, but past that, I can seem to figure it out. PUHLEEZE!

    • Billie, sorry for just replying now. The spreadsheet isn’t the easiest thing to modify, but if you have some experience with formulas in Excel, you can simply change them in the grayed out columns to the right. If you don’t have experience following and changing formulas in Excel, I’d just find one of the plants I already included that have close planting times to your plants.

  19. Thank you for a useful tool that saved me tons of frustrating attempts with the spreadsheet. I appreciate your generosity in sharing this.

  20. Thanks for putting this together. I had no problem downloading from Google docs (File, Save As). But It turns out that I shouldn’t be starting my tomatoes till next week, but thyme, basil and broccoli should start yesterday! It’s barely spring and I’m already behind!

  21. Hi I’m brand new to all this but would love to give it a go, any chance you could e-mail me your spreadsheet that everyone is raving about.
    Thank you

  22. Just got a allotment first coming up 2014 your spreadsheet looks just what I am after , is there any chance you could e/mail me the link to it please , if you could that would be great , but if you can’t , can you tell me how to get it .
    Thank you Dougie

Leave a comment